Writing- Part 1 of Many

A teacher of mine told me once that I will never find time for writing in my life. She told me that I will have to force in time for writing. I have to physically sit down, write, write, and then write. I feel like, as an amateur writer, I need all the writing time I can get. I don’t really feel like a writer, so finishing projects is main concern at the moment. I’ll tell you why.

I have written a collection of poems. Some are short, and some are long. Some are good, and some are bad. Their quality is not too much of a priority for me. Rather, what matters is that these poems get finished. Sadly, zero people have read these poems. I plan to try and publish them soon at my college, but they are hidden in my journal for now, waiting to be awakened from their slumber. I might even post some of them on this blog of mine.

I have also written a rather lengthy short story. This project is in its third draft. It might be the best piece of writing I have done, or the worst. Time will tell.

Regardless of my projects, the point that I’m trying to get across is that if you think that this whole writing thing might be right up your alley, you have to make sure that you can start a project and finish it too. If you can start and finish something, then you’re well on your way to becoming a writer. Worry about starting your ability to complete something. Sit down, write, write, and then write until you’re finished with your first draft. At least then, you’ll have an ugly mess on paper, rather than in your head.

Think of it like this. If you don’t start a writing project, it will have not beginning. If you don’t finish a writing project, it will have no end. Every piece of writing has a beginning and an end (with the exception of a few). A piece of writing without an end, spills its words onto the ground beneath it. And, a writing without a face, asks no questions. Besides, those are the easy pages. The hard part is filling the space in between.

Now, why should you listen to me? I am but an unpublished, wannabe writer. But how easily you forget, I managed to finish writing this post.

-H.G. Salas

Leave a Reply

