Friggartriskaidekaphobia

You thought I forgot. You thought I forgot about this blog.

Well, you thought wrong.

I’ve been away on holiday from college and the internet where I’ve been is terrible. It is a crime to be selling internet services like this to anyone.

Anyhow, it’s Friday the 13 today (or at least it was because it’s 11 pm already and you’re probably reading this on some other day). Buuuut, I had to get a cheap post off this day, because I like Friday the 13ths. I like bad luck and I’ll probably dive deep into the idea of luck soon enough.

Today is a broke man’s Halloween. Friday the 13th is supposed to be a day full of bad luck and omens and other spooky stuff.

Look. I’ve been scarred by my older sister during my childhood. She would be my babysitter while my mom and dad were away. She would also play non-scary scary movies in the living room. She would play Scary Movie and Chucky as I listened, because I would not dare to watch, in terror behind the large, green throw pillows my mother had (and still has). She would do this to mess with me, but she did not know that these experiences would lead me to stay away from scary movies in my childhood.

Around the age of 15, my cousin and I tried to watch Grudge 3. I got about 10 minutes in when I had to stop watching. It was something about a character’s elbows breaking by bending in the wrong direction that did me in. So that lead me to stay away from scary movies in my mid teenage years.

It was not until I was 17-ish when I got back into scary movies. By that I mean that I slowly got into them. It was a process that I had to undergo to fully appreciate the art of a good scary/horror movie in my 19th year of life.

Irrelevant backstory aside, Friday the 13th is not about scary things in terms of ghosts, goblins, and whatnot. Friday the 13th is not about being scary, it’s about being ominous and superstitious. That being said, here’s the point of this whole post.

Weird and Ominous Stuff That Happened on Friday the 13th:

  1. Sam Patch decided to jump off Genesee Falls on November 13, 1829, a Friday the 13th. He was a young adrenaline junkie that would jump of mills and do public stunts like how street performers do now. Patch actually had quite the following because around 10,000 people showed up to watch him jump of the falls. He had done the jump earlier in the month and it went fine. However, on Friday the 13th, 1829, Sam Patch leaped off Genesee Falls and met his death due to a wrong impact with the water below.
  2. On September 13, 1996, Tupac Shakur died. He died of gunshot injuries that originated on the 7th  of that same month. Or did he?
  3. On Friday, October 13, 1972, there was a plane crash in the Andes. 12 died on impact, but the rest survived until they resorted to cannibalism. The survivors tried to escape the Andes, but were forced to eat the bodies of dead passengers due to lack of available food. The movie Alive is inspired by these events. That same day and same year, there was another plane crash near Moscow that killed 174.
  4. Friday the 13th, 2010 saw a 13 year-old boy be struck by lightning in Suffolk, England at 13:13 (military time). Luckily, the boy lived with only having minor burns.
  5. Kitty Genovese was killed on Friday the 13th, 1964. She was stabbed to death while on her way home during the early morning. Her neighbors heard and saw this murder occur, but no one did anything about it. In fact, there were 30 witnesses to the murder, but there was not one phone call made to the police. One witness said that he didn’t call for help because “was tired. [So] I went back to bed. Later, the term Genovese Syndrome was coined. This term means that, in groups, people will not jump into action due to the fact that they are in a group and someone else from the group should/can help.
  6. $900 million is lost on Friday the 13th every year because of the superstition that surrounds the day. People don’t go into work, people don’t travel, people don’t do anything. Sadly their homes won’t protect them from #7
  7. It is estimated that on Friday the 13th, 2029, and asteroid will pass by earth, predicted to come closer to earth than our own satellites. Mark it on your calendars, kids!

I’m headed back to college in a few days. Expect the production rate of this blog to go up. I got ideas that I want to do, so be on the lookout for whatever I’m cooking in the lab. Spoiler: It’s not shitty lists like this one here.

 

Leave a Reply

