Friggartriskaidekaphobia (Reprise)

Bad luck.

I dipped my toes into this topic in my last post on Friday the 13th. I didn’t like that post that much because it turned into a list, anyone with two hands can write a list. So, I decided to redeem my last post by exploring the topic of bad luck and superstitions.

I was born on September 14. This means that Friday the 13th was always before my birthday when the day came around. I have always been ahead of misfortune by 24 hours.

I have survived 32 Friday the 13ths in my life. I have been around the block; I have experience in this field.

Regardless, I mentioned that Friday the 13 was a poor man’s Halloween in my last post and I do find that true. The kind of ‘creepy’ stuff that happens on Friday the 13th is more centered towards serial killers, misfortunes, and real world stuff. No one is scared of demons on Friday the 13th, they are scared of rainy nights and ax murderers. Ghost don’t exists on that day, but sudden catastrophe. This day is the day off for A tier phenomena that we are afraid of every other day of the year. No one chews their food a little extra just because they’re afraid to choke to death on Tuesday the 27th. No one wears their rabbit foot on Sunday the 3rd.

Anyway, superstition is the topic of today’s blog post. Everyone has it. Even if you don’t want to admit it, you have some sort of superstition that you believe in. Sports fans wear their socks inside out during the playoffs, athletes grow out their beards until they win a game or event. I roll up my pant legs when I’m losing in bowling. I wear a bracelet on my left wrist and never on my right. You probably have some superstition of your own. These things are hand-crafted and forged from our own mind. The black cat and  the sidewalk cracks are just things that everyone is fooled into thinking that it works.

So sidewalk cracks. You step on them and you break your mom’s back. Why would you ever want to do such a thing, breaking your mom’s back? The answer is you don’t. So, there you go, walking down the sidewalk at 7 years old and avoiding every and all cracks whilst your mom’s back is straight as an arrow. The success rate between you not stepping on cracks and the number of times your mom’s back has not been broken is 100%.

Sure, you forget about the superstition as time goes on, and you step on enough cracks to break every mom’s back in a parent-teacher association weekly meeting. The idea, however, stays with you. It lingers. You know it to be a false idea, but yet you hope all that time spent saving your mom from back pains was not wasted, so you keep it in the back of your mind. It whispers when you find your shoe right in the middle of a crack in the sidewalk.

That’s what I’m getting at. Superstitions whisper to you. They are the seed of doubt that grew into jungles in our subconscious. They make us question reality and mold our lives around them, even in the slightest.

We avoid cracks on concrete, walk around ladders, knock on wood, and do other ridiculous things to keep away things we know don’t exist…

Because we can’t afford them to be true.

-H.G. Salas

 

Leave a Reply

